Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Dire help needed

hey all i am in some dire need of help right now

i just got a new pc game, medieval 2 and i wanted to play it

i have 2 computers in my house, an hp pavillion zv5000 with 512 ram and plenty of memory and an older desktop with the same amount of ram and a good amount of memory left

so i go and try to play the game on my laptop first and i install it and though i thought i met all the requirements, it says pixel shader 1.1 is needed to play this game. From what i have researched pixel shader 1.1 seems very old and i shoudl have it considering i got this computer in early 2005 and i am easily able to play the sims 2 and rome total war and zoo tycoon 2 great on this computer and i would think those games would require pixel shader 1.1, but maybe not? if they do, (i dont know where to look as i am not very good with computers) what could have happened to it, and if those other games didnt need pixel shader 1.1, then why wouldnt i have it and how may i get it, would an upgrade do it or would i have to buy a new videocard?
    my current videocard for this computer is a Nvidia Geforce4 420 go 32m
    so is there any way i can get medieval 2to run on that ?

so then i tried my desktop, and i seem to be getting very unlucky as my reliable dell desktop suddenly stop reading all dvd's or games, as they are not under my computer and any of the drives, as they all come up empty, but when i put a MUsic cd into those, it reads it fine. Could i have maybe turned off an option somewhere stopping it from reading ALL dvd's and games i put in there or did something happen to it, and any idead on how to fiz it would be greatly appreciatted

overall, any advice for either or these 2 topics would be GREATLY APPRECIATED AND I AM EXTREMELY SORRY SO SUCH A LONG POST, I JUST WANTED TO MAKE SURE I PUT IN ALL THE DETAILS
    any advice at all is greatly aprecciated thanks a ton

Welcome to the site: