Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0

    Default Computer does not boot into Windows properly

    I have a Systemax that I installed another stick of 512 memory. Since them my computer does not boot up properly into Windows.

    Now when I turn the computer on there is a screen with a black backgound with a message at the bottom "Press to enter CMOS setup" comes up and it stays on this screen about 5 minutes before windows loads.

    I have reinstalled Windows and it still does the same thing.

    Does anyone have any idea of how I can get Windows to boot properly?

    Thanks for any help that can be provided.

    LaVone

  2. #2
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,189
    Points
    1308

    Default

    I installed another stick of 512 memory. Since them my computer does not boot up properly into Windows:

    Take the additional ram you put in out it may in fact be causing problem.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0

    Default

    I have taken the RAM out and rebooted and it is still doing the same thing.

  4. #4
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,189
    Points
    1308

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0

    Default

    I understand in the boot process that the CMOS is checked. I just need to know how to make my computer stop hanging up on this screen for 5 minutes.

    Do you have a suggestion for that?

  6. #6
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,189
    Points
    1308

    Default

    Sorry i don't but others here may.

  7. #7
    cdm
    cdm is offline
    Member cdm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Go Habs Go
    Posts
    629
    Points
    119

    Default

    maybe you can reset the CMOS battery on the motherboard. Restoring it to its default. ALso reseat the memory - it might not have been placed completely in its slot. Worth a try.
    If it is to be me, it is to be me.