Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    55
    Points
    3

    Default Memory upgrade question.

    I am upgrading my memory from 512 MB to 1 GB... I plan on purchasing another 512 chip tomorrow.

    The chip that came with the computer is a one sided 512.

    The following info. is copied from Everest.

    Memory Bus Properties
    Bus Type DDR SDRAM
    Bus Width 64-bit
    Real Clock 200 MHz (DDR)
    Effective Clock 400 MHz
    Bandwidth 3200 MB/s

    I have read your tutorial on memory, and have a question.

    Do I need to be concerned about purchasing something that will not work with what is presently installed?

  2. #2
    Member Bear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,839
    Points
    372

    Default

    To determine exactly what memory you need please see the link below.

    http://www.crucial.com/systemscanner/
    Comptia A+ and Network + Certified. Microsoft MCP in Windows 2000 Pro. Server, Advanced Server and Data Center Sever.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    55
    Points
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bear
    To determine exactly what memory you need please see the link below.

    http://www.crucial.com/systemscanner/
    Thanks Bear,

    I went to that link and this is what happened:

    Our System Scanner was able to find some of the data we need to make a recommendation, but we need more information to ensure a compatible match.

    They do not have my model listed, so I can not supply the information requested.

    System Model
    Acer Aspire SA85 R01-C4
    System Serial Number: >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    Asset Tag: Asset tag number: at least 22 digits
    Enclosure Type: Desktop

  4. #4
    Member Spyware Fighter Grim322's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Glendale, Arizona
    Posts
    3,026
    Points
    718

    Default

    Download CPUID here: http://www.cpuid.com/
    Run it and click on the SPD tab, it will give you the info about your memory. It looks like you have PC3200 (or DDR 400). Pay attention to the info about ECC, registered or buffered. The answer is probably no to all of these, but you want to be sure. if the answer is no to all of those items, probably any pc3200 non ECC memory will work. If in doubt, call Crucial and tell them the make of your computer and the info from CPUID and they will make sure for you. Charlie

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    55
    Points
    3

    Default

    Thanks Charlie,

    PC Wizard provides the same information. I have included it here because I can Copy it from there, and paste it here. Something CPUID will not allow me to do.

    I will let you know how things work out tomorrow.

    Information SPD EEPROM (A0) :
    Manufacturer : Nanya Technology

    Type : DDR-SDRAM PC3200 (200 MHz) - [DDR-400]
    Size : 512 MB (1 rows, 4 banks)
    Module Buffered : No
    Module Registered : No
    Module EPP : No
    Width : 64-bit
    Error Correction Capability : No
    Max. Burst Length : 8
    Refresh : Reduced (.5x)7.8 ┬Ás, Self Refresh
    Voltage : SSTL 2.5v
    Manufacture : Week 39 of 2006
    Supported Frequencies : 166 MHz, 200 MHz
    CAS Latency (tCL) : 2.5 clocks @166 MHz, 3 clocks @200 MHz
    RAS to CAS (tRCD) : 3 clocks @166 MHz, 3 clocks @200 MHz
    RAS Precharge (tRP) : 3 clocks @166 MHz, 3 clocks @200 MHz
    Cycle Time (tRAS) : 7 clocks @166 MHz, 8 clocks @200 MHz

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    55
    Points
    3

    Default

    I showed the Clerk (at the computer store) the above info, and he sold me a chip.

    I installed it and there is joy in this house.

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    Member Bear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,839
    Points
    372

    Default

    Thanks for letting us know your problem is resolved.
    Comptia A+ and Network + Certified. Microsoft MCP in Windows 2000 Pro. Server, Advanced Server and Data Center Sever.