Thread: PC wont Post

Default PC wont Post

ok have just had a new m/b asus A8V-vm with a amd athlon 64 3000+ with an nvidia gs7600 pci card fitted by a tech bloke, rang the man on saturday only to be told it wont post, not being a complete newbie with these thing i said oh?, as it all new stuff, new p/s, m/b,card, only my drives and cd are from the orginal pc, which all worked fine

and after some rummanging round the internet at work today im lead to belive that my memory may be dead. Is my thinking right or is something else amiss?

Hi - Have you checked the Ram is properly seated in the slots? If you check this yourself be sure to touch a bare part of the chassis to discharge any static you may be carrying before making sure the RAM is properly seated. Only touch the RAM on its edges, not on the faces where the chips are. Regards.
    I know everything about nothing, nothing about everything and precious little about the bit in between.
    P4-3.0G - Seagate Barracuda 160 - Maxtor 120 - Antec Hard Drive Cooler - 1GRam - Radeon9800Pro - Sony Multi DriveDVDRW - Audigy2 6.1 - XPHome

thanks for the reply galena, have double and triple checked they were seated correctly, still nothing, so have gone and bought some new ram fingers crossed it will work, otherwise it time for the old irish screwdriver(aka a lump hammer) trick and hit it.

as my pc is currently with a techincian i would assume he has tried everything like making sure the ram is seated correctly and stipping it down to a barebone. but if my thinking is correct and the ram is dead then evn if he strips it down to the basis it still wont post

Hi - Presumably this RAM was ok before it went to the technician? Who is supplying and fitting the new RAM? Cynic that I am If the technician, suggest you request the old RAM when you collect the machine. Regards.
    I know everything about nothing, nothing about everything and precious little about the bit in between.