Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    brisbane
    Posts
    5
    Points
    0

    Default computer cant find internal modem

    I have Win 98 on an ASUS SiS650GL mother board with 2 gig processor and for some reason it just cant accept the pci modem it only want to assign it to either com1 or com2. How do i get it to figure out that the modem is in a pci slot.
    tried to get pc wizard but cant do that either, any help would be appreciated at the moment.

  2. #2
    Member Bear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,839
    Points
    372

    Default

    Try moving the PCI modem to another PCI slot and rebooting the computer. Windows should see that new hardware has been installed and offer to install the drivers for the card. If not please tell us the make & model of the modem and we can help you find & install the correct drivers.
    Comptia A+ and Network + Certified. Microsoft MCP in Windows 2000 Pro. Server, Advanced Server and Data Center Sever.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    brisbane
    Posts
    5
    Points
    0

    Default

    i have the drivers disk it is a swannsmart II pro and i'll try moving it to the other two pci slots and let you know the results.
    thanks for the advice

  4. #4
    Member Help2Go Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA USA
    Posts
    2,994
    Points
    931

    Default

    com1 or com2
    do you want it on a different com port or something?

    Partie™

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    brisbane
    Posts
    5
    Points
    0

    Default

    I have formatted hard drive, reloaded win98 and it still only wants to use com 1 or printer port to attach the modem to.
    I have a feeling that the problem is in the bios but unsure of what i'm looking at.
    In the bios i have found these things and want to know if they have any bearing on my problem:
    . PCI/VGA Palette snoop Disabled
    . pci latency timer 32
    . Slot 1 IRQ Auto
    . Slot 2 IRQ Auto
    . Slot 3 IRQ Auto

    If there is anything else that may be the problem can someone please help

  6. #6
    Member Help2Go Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA USA
    Posts
    2,994
    Points
    931

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PartieHonteuse
    com1 or com2
    do you want it on a different com port or something?

    Partie™

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    brisbane
    Posts
    5
    Points
    0

    Default

    Partie,
    Its not that i want it on a different port, the problem is that the comp wont accept that the modem is in a different spot. I am able to connect thru an old external modem connected to the com 1 spot but since its only a loaner i need the comp to reconise that the internal modem is a PCI modem connected through a PCI slot not a com port or printer port.
    it sounds as frustrating as it is.
    When i got the computer it had a lot of porn on it and no virus protection so i believe that it had some kind of virus in it, formatted the hard drive, loaded a fresh copy of win2000 and proceeded to download drivers etc until the os crashed. I then formatted it again reloaded win 2000 and again it crashed. After i watched the win 2000 disk fly out over the water, i casually walked back inside and put in the win 98 disk in the drive a nd loaded that on.
    this computer has 3 PCI slots each of which i have tried with this modem and every time i try to load the modem in it gets to the point where i'm supposed to indicate which com port or printer port it is located in but it dos'nt give me the option of a PCI slot so i cant go any further.

    I hope this insn't to much information but i just have no idea what is stopping this computer from doing its job.

    eaglefeather

  8. #8
    Member Help2Go Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA USA
    Posts
    2,994
    Points
    931

    Default

    I am able to connect thru an old external modem connected to the com 1 spot but since its only a loaner i need the comp to reconise that the internal modem is a PCI modem connected through a PCI slot not a com port or printer port.
    I don't understand the question or what you're after I guess but your modem (internal or external) will always use a COM port. Internal modems use more of a softare based COM port unlike older serial modems (external) that used hardware com ports but either way a COM port according to your computer. Be it COM1, COM2, COM3, COM4 or COMx it doesn't matter. Take a look at this article.

    http://powerjoe.tripod.com/coms.html

    You will know which com port your modem is installed on once you go into the control panel and double click on "modems and fax" or "modems" icon. There it'll tell you what com port your modem is installed on or using.

    Partie™

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    brisbane
    Posts
    5
    Points
    0

    Default

    Partie,
    thankyou for the link it was informative and enlightening, sorry if may explaination was a little confusing i dont always convey in words what i am thinking. from the information you have provided i have deterimed that the problem is OS, bios or modem related and since i'm fed up trying to fix this computer - and it works with external modem - i'm not going to try anything else, so thank you for the information.
    eaglefeather