Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Video Card

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14
    Points
    0

    Default Video Card

    Just upgraded my comp and I am having a problem with the GeForce 7300GS video card.

    When i load the drivers one of them shows in the Device Manager as a conflict, " nVidia WDM Video Capture ( Universal )".

    When the drivers are loading it says there is a problem "Device cannot start Code 10 ".

    Tried reinstalling it loads of times now desperate for help because a prog i want to use " Ulead Video Studio " keeps telling me it cannot grab any of the pics i want to use.
    Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,189
    Points
    1308

    Default

    From what I found the board has a history with Error code 10- the link below is Nvida's explanation-I have found many other reasons for the error but no clear solution- If you have just purchased the card you may consider contacting Nvida support , I would do that before doing what is recommend at the link below as it involves a bios change,

    http://www.nvidia.com/object/IO_13957.html

    Zep.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14
    Points
    0

    Default

    Went there and there was no option to change the IRQ.

    All I found that mentioned IRQ was in the PNP/PCI section of the BIOS titled " IRQ Resource Setup", on opening it I found IRQ3 to IRQ15 with and option to make it either Available or Reserved, at the moment all are set at Available.

    So how can I "Assign IRQ to VGA" as per the instructions in the afore mentioned link?

  4. #4
    Member galena1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Devon -UK
    Posts
    3,109
    Points
    429

    Default

    Hi - Can you/have you tried the card in a different slot?
    I know everything about nothing, nothing about everything and precious little about the bit in between.
    P4-3.0G - Seagate Barracuda 160 - Maxtor 120 - Antec Hard Drive Cooler - 1GRam - Radeon9800Pro - Sony Multi DriveDVDRW - Audigy2 6.1 - XPHome

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14
    Points
    0

    Default

    The card is a PCI Express card and there are 2 slots on the board, yes i have tried it in both slots.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    12,000
    Points
    1191

    Default

    Your PC has two PCI Express slots,are you sure? PCI-E, is not the same as PCI.

    BG

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14
    Points
    0

    Default

    The MB is a MSI K9N SLI Platinum which does have 2 PCI Express x16 slots to enable you to run 2 video cards together.

    The video card is GeForce 7300 GS.

    Still looking for help and solution.

  8. #8
    Member Help2Go Moderator whoozhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wallaroo South Australia
    Posts
    8,567
    Points
    801

    Default

    From what I can make out from all the postings on this issue is it is a compatibility issue.
    You say you upgraded. What other parts did you upgrade and some details on your current system would help.
    I have read that a lot of gamers are not impressed with the card.
    Take control of your life. Leave others to control their own.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14
    Points
    0

    Default

    Upgrade was complete with new MB, new graphics card, 2Gb DDR2 ram, sata DVD drive.

    Kept 2 original hard drives and LG DVD drive and tower.

    Runs Win XP Pro.
    So I cannot see what is not compatable.