Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    New Jérsey in USA
    Posts
    153
    Points
    2

    Default ext HDD wont install

    Right click on My Computer.
    Choose Manage (This will open the Computer Management window).
    Go to the Storage category and select Disk Management
    Right click the new drive (usually listed as Hard Disk 1) and "initialize"
    You now have the option to partition and format the drive.
    The default settings of Primary Partition and NTFS- Quick Format are recommended for most users.

    Tried following these instructions...but when I click "initialize" nothing happens? It still says "not initialized" I clicked and clicked, still no good.

  2. #2
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    Is the HD recognized in BIOS? Check with manufacturer, most have install programs you can download.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    New Jérsey in USA
    Posts
    153
    Points
    2

    Default

    It is recognized in the "device manager" and when I click on its properties, says "working properly" or words to that effect.

  4. #4
    Member steamwiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire U.K.
    Posts
    14,022
    Points
    2335

    Default

    Hi

    I think you are clicking in the wrong place ...
    Look here for Ways to keep your computer safe
    M'SOFT MVP -Windows Security 2004/8 .member ASAP -

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    New Jérsey in USA
    Posts
    153
    Points
    2

    Default

    I really like your logo. Yes of course I clicked in the correct box, as shown on your diagram. Not to have done so would have reflected rather badly on my IQ. But...it still wont work. Guess it's just something must monkey with further. Thanks for trying to help rgds.

    A person's IQ and age are inverse to the number of exclamation/question marks they require to put a point across - Socrates

  6. #6
    Member steamwiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire U.K.
    Posts
    14,022
    Points
    2335

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulandjean
    Yes of course I clicked in the correct box, as shown on your diagram. Not to have done so would have reflected rather badly on my IQ.
    I don't think that would reflect at all badly on your IQ

    I looked at this thread and thought back to the first time I installed a new Hard-drive, & I remember having the same problem, but I was clicking in the wrong place ... it appeared to me at the time that the obvious place to click was the large white area, I have no idea of your level of computer knowledge & I'm sorry if I offended you with such a basic suggestion...

    steam
    Look here for Ways to keep your computer safe
    M'SOFT MVP -Windows Security 2004/8 .member ASAP -