Default Best ghost/imaging solution?

Hi,

In the past I have spent entire weekends trying to clean viruses off my daughter's system. She is 16, knows the main security things, but despite my best efforts to protect her system invariably she gets the worst viruses out there.

I now have a clean used system for her but she is forbidden to use it until I find the best solution for creating some type of recover CD for the system. She does not install anything that can't be reinstalled easily later and I've had experiences with viruses messing with restore points in the past so what I want to end up with is something that I can use that will put the computer back to the condition it is now in. I've read info on Norton Ghost and True Image (Acronis product, I think). Anyway, both of them have customer reviews which say to avoid the product at all costs.

So I'm asking here for the best option. I'm a programmer so I'm comfortable with computers, but not so good with OS and hardware intricacies. I know I'm going to have to "restore" her system at some point (probably monthly) and just want an easy button!

The system is running xp Pro, but ask if you need additional information.

I really appreciate the quick and patient help I always get from you folks.

Thanks in advance...

-Carolyn
    Carolyn

First of all, I don't use either one of them, so I can't speak from personal experience. But they are probably two of the more popular ones out there. Are there people that have problems with them ? Sure are, just like any other program out there.

If you back up files/programs that are "infected" when you do the "restore" it very well may still be infected. These don't clean things, just restore things like they were at a given date.

What is she doing that she always getting problems ? Guessing things like
    Peer to peer (P2P) file sharing, or maybe My Space.