Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,151
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Inserting a link

    I've recently had problems inserting a link to a highlighted piece of text when responding to a post. The outcome is that I have to paste the link in full. Hopefully, I'm doing it right... highlight text, click on Insert Link icon. The window opens, I paste in the link and click on OK, but the link isn't there - just the plain text. Tried it a number of times to no avail.

    Any ideas/suggestions?

  2. #2
    Member Bear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,839
    Points
    372

    Default

    Just a test

    Click Here
    Last edited by Bear; 06-20-2008 at 06:50 PM.
    Comptia A+ and Network + Certified. Microsoft MCP in Windows 2000 Pro. Server, Advanced Server and Data Center Sever.

  3. #3
    Member Bear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,839
    Points
    372

    Default

    Working OK for me
    Comptia A+ and Network + Certified. Microsoft MCP in Windows 2000 Pro. Server, Advanced Server and Data Center Sever.

  4. #4
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    OK Arraknid, type click here and then highlight it. Then go to the little sign above with the world and chain (Insert link) and click on it > in the window that opens put in the address you want to refer to > OK. That should do it.
    Click here
    Last edited by Canuck; 06-20-2008 at 11:07 PM.


  5. #5
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,151
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    OK, that's exactly what I 'm doing, but I'll try it again. Click here

    No, all happens as it should - the window opens, I paste in an address, click on OK, the window disappears, but nothing has changed. The link isn't there.

    Strange eh?

    I'm going to repeat the same thing with other browsers.

    Edit..sorry that was with Opera 9.5
    Last edited by arraknid; 06-21-2008 at 03:42 AM.

  6. #6
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,151
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    This is the same thing using IE7. Click here

    OK that worked.

  7. #7
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,151
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    And with Mozilla Click here

    Worked again.

  8. #8
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,151
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    OK, so now I know which browser to use. Not that it's a major problem, I can still just paste the link into the text. Shame though, I like Opera!!

    Thanks Guys.

  9. #9
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,151
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Not one to give up easily, I did a restart and I'm back in using Opera. I did the test again and now it works!!! Preview shows the link, which I didn't bother posting, so I'm happy again!

    I know the Firefox fan club is based here but does anyone else use Opera? I like it because it's unobtrusive, has a fantastic GUI and features not seen anywhere else.

    Thanks again.

  10. #10
    Member Spyware Fighter Clark76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    1,359
    Points
    239

    Default

    test

    My test was just done with Opera 9.5 also.

    You are definity right about Opera having some great features. My favorite is the speed dial. One of the main things holding me back from using Opera more often then FireFox though, is the lack of an auto spell-check feature since I am a horrible speller
    Proud Member of ASAP
    Proud Member of UNITE

    Do not ask for my help via pm. Keep it in the forums so all may learn from it.

    My help here is always free but it does cost money to keep the site running. If you feel we've helped you, Please Donate to the Forum

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast