Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Member tallin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    855
    Points
    166

    Default I need a lesson here.

    Thank you , I do need that lesson.

    I want to insert arrows into my posts to make them clearer for OP's to understand some of the directions or suggestions given like this:


    OR

    this.

    Do any of the members or guests reading this know of software to execute this practice please. I know I have it in MSWord but there is no option to insert the shapes or arrows outside of the Word software as far as I can tell.

    Would really appreciate it if there is some software out there, not Photoshop as I do not have it and this small exercise would not warrant such a cost.

    There is no need for it to be free, just not $$$$$$ plus!
    Last edited by Canuck; 11-28-2008 at 07:25 PM.

  2. #2
    NM
    NM is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Barbados
    Posts
    75
    Points
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tallin View Post
    Would really appreciate it if there is some software out there, not Photoshop as I do not have it and this small exercise would not warrant such a cost.

    There is no need for it to be free, just not $$$$$$ plus!
    Hi,Tallin, I take it you wish to add arrows comments etc to screen shots. Am I correct? Hmm, there is Greenshot in the software pick that does it.
    Attached Images

  3. #3
    NM
    NM is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Barbados
    Posts
    75
    Points
    9

    Default

    ....and, Tallin, if you want something with more bells an whistles the is always GIMP (also software pick). GIMP won't take screen shots though. It's kind of a substitute for Photoshop.

    Norbert

  4. #4
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    I have in the past recommended highly PhotoScape it is great for screen capture and also for graphic symbols/arrows etc.


  5. #5
    Member tallin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    855
    Points
    166

    Default

    Thanks for your replies.

    No, that is not what I am after, I already have Snapshot.exe for my Screen Shots along with PrtScn SysRq (Print Screen for Windows)

    I know there is Software out there to simply put arrows into a reply to an OP to help direct them to understanding the reply to their query more easily, just as I included in my initial shot in my first post in this thread.

    The reason I know is I once had the link to this software, but have mislaid it which is frustrating me somewhat. It is not free, and only comes with arrows, and I think some shapes etc. Paint does the job if I use the line offered in the options, but is not as professional as I think I need.

  6. #6
    Moderator Forum Moderator evilfantasy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    4,670
    Points
    673

    Default

    |MG| FastStone Image Viewer 3.6 has the easiest option for creating arrows I have ever used. Just click and drag, that's it.
    .


    Our help here is always free but it does cost money to keep the site running. If you feel we've helped you, Please Donate to the Forum

  7. #7
    Member tallin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    855
    Points
    166

    Default

    Thank you for your input, but I do not want such a detailed program, I have Picasa2 that does all that.

    I cannot see where you can drag and drop arrows in the program you contributed either.....sorry.

    What I want to do in a much more professional way would be similar to the example below which I just did with Paint software using the bold line to create the red arrow.


  8. #8
    Moderator Forum Moderator evilfantasy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    4,670
    Points
    673

    Default

    I might be misunderstanding and if so I apologize. But it's really easy with Fastone, only Fastone is a little confusing until you get used to it.

    Open Fastone and double click your picture. Then right click on it and choose Edit > Draw Board.

    Next on the left you will see a little arrow, click it then set your color and size. Then use the mouse to create arrows of pretty much any fashion.



    Last edited by evilfantasy; 11-28-2008 at 07:32 PM.
    .


    Our help here is always free but it does cost money to keep the site running. If you feel we've helped you, Please Donate to the Forum

  9. #9
    Member tallin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    855
    Points
    166

    Default Heavens above!

    I am downloading it again, uninstalled it before when it looked so complicated. Thank you for the step by step, I Will give it a go later on when I have more time. All this for an arrow in a post.

    Which prompts me to reply, how do you get the arrow in the reply to the post before you preview it? That would be my dilemma at this stage, but I have not tried it yet.

    I really appreciate the time and effort you are giving to assist me here.

    PS.. Can you make the screen smaller? I think Clark76 posted a URL in the Shout Box which happened on another occasion. Where are the Mods, having turkey I guess.....

  10. #10
    Moderator Forum Moderator evilfantasy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    4,670
    Points
    673

    Default

    All this for an arrow in a post.
    Agreed. The only thing I really use Fastone for is arrows...

    Depending what I'm doing I will use a mix of paint programs. For that I used PrntScrn then pasted it in MS Paint, cut it then saved it to the Desktop and opened it and added the arrows with Fastone. Sounds like a lot but I have got it down to science.

    The Gimp resizes pictures very good without distorting the pixels.
    Paint.net for adding text and cropping family type photos as it automatically creates a new window the exact size of whatever you just cut out by going to File > New.

    Sounds like a lot but again, I have it all down to a science. I'm tot patient enough to learn all of the ins and outs of just one program or do I use them that often.

    PS.. Can you make the screen smaller?
    I'm not sure I understand what you mean by that?
    .


    Our help here is always free but it does cost money to keep the site running. If you feel we've helped you, Please Donate to the Forum

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast