Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: Is it a virus?

  1. #21
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,188
    Points
    1308

    Default

    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth

    Can you copy the command above, then right click in the command prompt window & choose paste. If that command runs, then run sfc /scannow

  2. #22
    Member skaterace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    73
    Points
    0

    Default

    The RestoreHealth command seems to have run. I eventually got a 100.0% on the screen. However, I also got this message,
    "Error: 0x800f0906
    The source files could not be downloaded.
    Use the "source" option to specify the locatio of the files that are required to restore the feature. For more information on specifying a source location, see http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=243077.
    The DISM log file can be found at C:\WINDOWS\Logs\DISM\dism.log"

    Should I go ahead and run the scannow command?

  3. #23
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,188
    Points
    1308

    Default

    I'm getting in unfamiliar territory with these errors, but yes go ahead an run the scannow command, if it comes back with error reboot and run it again, and we will see if it can fix anything.

  4. #24
    Member skaterace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    73
    Points
    0

    Default

    K, I've run the commands a couple of times now, and received the same error messages both times. I can see no appreciable difference in the working of my browser. Sorry if I'm being difficult.

  5. #25
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,188
    Points
    1308

    Default

    It's not you being difficult, it's windows 8.

    Does the computer restart ok now ?

    Does Malwarebytes open correctly now ?

  6. #26
    Member skaterace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    73
    Points
    0

    Default

    Yes, the computer now restarts correctly, and Malware Bytes opens. For that I am very grateful.
    Do I just have to live with my slow browser now? It wasn't always like this.

  7. #27
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,188
    Points
    1308

    Default

    What browser ? Lets reinstall it or at least reset it.

    To reset Chrome;

    Reset your browser settings
    1.In the top-right corner of the browser window, click the Chrome menu
    2.Select Settings.
    3.At the bottom, click Show advanced settings.
    4.Under the section "Reset settings,” click Reset settings.
    5.In the dialog that appears, click Reset.


    How to reset Firefox:

    • Click the menu button and then click help .
    • From the Help menu choose Troubleshooting Information. ...
    • Click the Reset Firefox… button in the upper-right corner of the
    • Troubleshooting Information page.
    • To continue, click Reset Firefox in the confirmation window that opens.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to zep516 For This Useful Post:


  9. #28
    Member skaterace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    73
    Points
    0

    Default

    Oh hey! That made a huge difference! I used the same trick on my laptop, and also saw a marked improvement there. Thanks!
    I think I'm good now, unless there was anything else you wanted me to do.

  10. #29
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,188
    Points
    1308

    Default

    I think we are ok for now. We should remove all the tools though by using delfix and that should do it.


    Download DelFix by Xplode and save it to your desktop.
    • Run the tool by right click on the icon and Run as administrator option.
    • Make sure that these ones are checked:
      • Remove disinfection tools
      • Purge system restore
      • Reset system settings
    • Push Run.
    • The program will run for a few seconds and display a notepad report.
      Paste it for my review.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to zep516 For This Useful Post:


  12. #30
    Member skaterace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    73
    Points
    0

    Default

    # DelFix v10.9 - Logfile created 06/04/2015 at 16:25:33
    # Updated 27/02/2015 by Xplode
    # Username : Anderson - SAMSPC
    # Operating System : Windows 8.1 (64 bits)

    ~ Removing disinfection tools ...

    Deleted : C:\FRST
    Deleted : C:\AdwCleaner
    Deleted : C:\logFileUI.txt
    Deleted : C:\Users\Sam's Club\Desktop\Fixlog.txt
    Deleted : C:\Users\Sam's Club\Desktop\FRST64.exe
    Deleted : C:\Users\Sam's Club\Downloads\Addition.txt
    Deleted : C:\Users\Sam's Club\Downloads\adwcleaner_4.200.exe
    Deleted : C:\Users\Sam's Club\Downloads\ComboFix(1).exe
    Deleted : C:\Users\Sam's Club\Downloads\ComboFix.exe
    Deleted : C:\Users\Sam's Club\Downloads\FRST.txt
    Deleted : C:\Users\Sam's Club\Downloads\JRT(1).exe
    Deleted : C:\Users\Sam's Club\Downloads\JRT(2).exe
    Deleted : C:\Users\Sam's Club\Downloads\JRT.exe
    Deleted : C:\Users\Sam's Club\Downloads\HijackThis.exe
    Deleted : C:\Users\Sam's Club\Downloads\hijackthis.log
    Deleted : HKLM\SOFTWARE\AdwCleaner
    Deleted : HKLM\SOFTWARE\TrendMicro\Hijackthis

    ~ Cleaning system restore ...


    New restore point created !

    ~ Resetting system settings ... OK

    ########## - EOF - ##########

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123