Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Member mp04279's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0

    Default Can't load http://www.yahoo.com

    I've followed the instructions from another post on how to resolve this, but didn't have any similar references in my Hijackthis file. I have ran SpyBot, Ad-aware, NAV, and AVG in hopes of finding something. But to no avail.........

    Here is my HIJACKTHIS file:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
    Scan saved at 9:06:47 AM, on 4/25/2005
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgamsvr.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgupsvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NORTON~4\GHOSTS~2.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL$MICROSOFTBCM\Binn\sqlservr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Antivirus\navapsvc.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NORTON~2\NPROTECT.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Antivirus\SAVScan.exe
    C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\SMAgent.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NORTON~2\SPEEDD~1\NOPDB.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\CCPD-LC\symlcsvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Security Center\SymWSC.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\SMax4PNP.exe
    C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\Smax4.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\igfxtray.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\hkcmd.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wfxsnt40.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgcc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Software Updates\HijackThis_DONOTREMOVE\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Connection Wizard,ShellNext = http://www.grisoft.com/html/webreg.php
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Antivirus\NavShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Antivirus\NavShExt.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMAXPnP] C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\SMax4PNP.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMAX] "C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\Smax4.exe" /tray
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IgfxTray] C:\WINDOWS\System32\igfxtray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HotKeysCmds] C:\WINDOWS\System32\hkcmd.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WinFaxAppPortStarter] wfxsnt40.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Symantec NetDriver Monitor] C:\PROGRA~1\SYMNET~1\SNDMon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgcc.exe /STARTUP
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O16 - DPF: {4E888414-DB8F-11D1-9CD9-00C04F98436A} (Microsoft.WinRep) - https://webresponse.one.microsoft.co...veX/winrep.cab
    O16 - DPF: {88D969C0-F192-11D4-A65F-0040963251E5} (XML DOM Document 4.0) - file://C:\TempEI4\EI40_\msxml4.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) - http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as5/asinst.cab
    O16 - DPF: {BF116476-3238-4EDA-A2D7-6D6814EF0DEC} (Quicksilver Class) - https://vapwdb.ops.placeware.com/etc...uicksilver.cab
    O16 - DPF: {CE28D5D2-60CF-4C7D-9FE8-0F47A3308078} (ActiveDataInfo Class) - https://www-secure.symantec.com/tech...a/SymAData.dll
    O16 - DPF: {E77C0D62-882A-456F-AD8F-7C6C9569B8C7} (ActiveDataObj Class) - https://www-secure.symantec.com/tech...ActiveData.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: Domain = smallbusiness.local
    O17 - HKLM\Software\..\Telephony: DomainName = smallbusiness.local
    O17 - HKLM\System\CS1\Services\Tcpip\Parameters: Domain = smallbusiness.local
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: igfxcui - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\igfxsrvc.dll
    O23 - Service: AVG7 Alert Manager Server (Avg7Alrt) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgamsvr.exe
    O23 - Service: AVG7 Update Service (Avg7UpdSvc) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgupsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Event Manager (ccEvtMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Password Validation (ccPwdSvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccPwdSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Settings Manager (ccSetMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
    O23 - Service: GhostStartService - Symantec Corporation - C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NORTON~4\GHOSTS~2.EXE
    O23 - Service: Norton AntiVirus Auto Protect Service (navapsvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Antivirus\navapsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Norton Unerase Protection (NProtectService) - Symantec Corporation - C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NORTON~2\NPROTECT.EXE
    O23 - Service: SAVScan - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Antivirus\SAVScan.exe
    O23 - Service: ScriptBlocking Service (SBService) - Symantec Corporation - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\SYMANT~1\SCRIPT~1\SBServ.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Network Drivers Service (SNDSrvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SNDSrvc.exe
    O23 - Service: SoundMAX Agent Service (SoundMAX Agent Service (default)) - Analog Devices, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Analog Devices\SoundMAX\SMAgent.exe
    O23 - Service: Speed Disk service - Symantec Corporation - C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NORTON~2\SPEEDD~1\NOPDB.EXE
    O23 - Service: Symantec Core LC - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\CCPD-LC\symlcsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: SymWMI Service (SymWSC) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Security Center\SymWSC.exe

    Appreciate any help you can give on this matter.

    Thanks,
    Micheline

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    12,000
    Points
    1190

    Default

    www.yahoo.com is not some thing to down load it is a web site, just access it. Are talking about yahoo chat or games that is different.

    Is the PC on a network ? Like DomainName = smallbusiness.local ?

    If you are at work they may have blocked the site your are trying to down load from.

    Let us know.

    Cheers

  3. #3
    Member mp04279's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0

    Default load yahoo website

    I'm just trying to have the website load and view it. When I type in the address http://www.yahoo.com and press enter.... I get a "The Page Cannot Be Displayed". I can get to any other website, but not yahoo. All the other pc's here can access yahoo (since that is where everyone has their email).

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    12,000
    Points
    1190

    Default

    If in fact all you are trying to do is to go to www.yahoo.com, I have no clue. I assume that you can access other sites OK.

    Since you have implied this is a work PC, need to talk to the person that handles you IT problems.

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Member mp04279's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0

    Default Still stuck

    Ha! That's me! I'm the 'official' tech support here. It's a very small office (under a handful). I've contacted both SBCGLOBAL & YAHOO for assistance in getting this resolved. Neither of them was any help. SBC says to talk to Yahoo and Yahoo says to talk to SBC. Figures. Yes, in fact I was just trying to go to www.yahoo.com (access it). Very simple. Or at least should be. There is NO firewall software on this pc and the other pc's can access it.... so I assume that it's not blocked in the router firewall. Did you see anything in the HIJACKTHIS log I posted earlier?

    Any suggestions? Please?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    12,000
    Points
    1190

    Default

    Have you deleted all cookies, temp history and temp files. ?

    Try typing www.yahoo.com in the address bar
    Here is the whole entry I get when I type www.yahoo.com:

    "http://www.yahoo.com/ "

    If your entry is different, please post it.

    Cheers

  7. #7
    Member steamwiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire U.K.
    Posts
    14,022
    Points
    2335

    Default

    Hi

    please go here and find your hosts file...

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ETC

    Open it in notepad and copy & paste the contents here in a new post

    steam
    Look here for Ways to keep your computer safe
    M'SOFT MVP -Windows Security 2004/8 .member ASAP -

  8. #8
    Member mp04279's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0

    Default Still not working.....

    Here is what I've done so far:

    Delete cookies, delete files (all offline content), Security - default level (med), Privacy (med), Block all pop-up, under the Advanced Tab - restore defaults.

    Here is the contents of the c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts file:

    # Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    127.0.0.1 localhost




    When I type in http://www.yahoo.com in either Firefox or MSIE 6.0.... I get the same type of message: The page cannot be displayed. The URL does not change and does not appear to be rerouted.

    I have updated and ran, Norton AntiVirus, Spybot, Ad-aware, and AVG... and everything appears to be ok.

    Any suggestions? Oh.... one other strange thing... I had to run the WinXP sp2 update manually from a CD. It would crash whenever I tried to run it from Windows Update. The manual install appeared to work fine, but now the Netframe ? update is not installing. <sigh>

    Regards,
    Micheline

  9. #9
    Member steamwiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire U.K.
    Posts
    14,022
    Points
    2335

    Default

    HI

    I think you've posted the hosts.sam file

    Your hosts file has NO extension...

    please go here and find your hosts file...

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\ETC

    Open it in notepad and copy & paste the contents here in a new post....

    An entry like this in the file :-

    127.0.0.1 yahoo.com

    or

    127.0.0.1 www.yahoo.com

    will give you the "page cannot be displayed" when trying to access yahoo

    steam
    Look here for Ways to keep your computer safe
    M'SOFT MVP -Windows Security 2004/8 .member ASAP -

  10. #10
    Member mp04279's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0

    Default Hosts file

    It's the only hosts file I can find (other than the lmhosts). I'm not at that computer right now, but if I remember correctly, when I looked at the details of the file, there were no extensions associated with it.

    Still perplexed...... :?


    Micheline

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast