Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Startup takes 16 mins after bootup

Last week I installed a yousendit.com plugin and uploaded a 75Mb attachment from within Outlook. The next morning, I had problems with booting up. Eventually I managed to uninstall the plugin. Now whenever I boot up, it takes about 16 minutes before the startup items (AVG and network icons; I've unchecked most programs from the startup list) display in my status bar. If I try to start a program before this is done, the program will sometimes hang. Once the startup is complete, everything works fine. I'm not very technical and would appreciate any advice on what I can do to fix the problem. Many thanks.

Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar

You'll need to stop some of the programs from running at startup. Go to Start > Run > type in msconfig > OK > Startup tab > you'll see a list of programs with boxes with check marks in them ... these are the ones running in background. Un-check the boxes to the programs you don't want running ... if you have a desktop PC , about the only program that need be checked would be anti-virus & firewall, the rest can be opened by clicking the program in Start > All Programs. After unchecking the programs, > OK > you'll be asked to restart your PC, do so. Went the PC boots up again, there'll be a configuration window, check the box in it to 'not show this window again' or words to that effect.
    If you have a hard time figuring out what should be running, list them here and we'll advise you. Keep us posted.

laketowhee,

After finishing up with canucks advice you may also consider a disk clean up and run the disk defragmenter as well- these tools are in xp and they are very useful and increase the performance of xp...